Home Smart Living Guides How to erase or reset your smartphone before selling it ?

How to erase or reset your smartphone before selling it ?

2948
0
SHARE

A lot of customers call us to ask if they should erase or reset their smartphone data or show concern over data security while selling their smartphones (Android, Windows, Apple) to www.ReGlobe.in . We at ReGlobe make sure that every device that comes in undergoes a factory reset to erase all the data. Although we give specific advise to our customers that – “reset your smartphone before sending it to us”, we at our end have strict data security processes and implement “Factory reset” as the first step after the gadget enters our facility. Factory reset deletes all data files, emails, images etc and all Apps installed on the phone. Following are the ways to do it for different phones:

For All Android Phones

Step 1: Backup. Everything. Contacts and messages are typically the most important part of your backup process. Most Android device come with baked-in cloud backup abilities, and for those missing that ability, a backup application is just a tap away.

Step 2: Depending on which version of Android your device is running or in some cases depending on which manufacturer (HTC, Samsung, etc.), the Factory Reset option may reside in a different place, but the idea is similar.

  • Select the “Privacy” settings, and scroll down to “Factory reset”
  • Select the “Backup and reset” settings, and scroll down to “Factory reset”
  • If you want to erase all of the data on your phone’s SD card as well, check the box at the bottom of the screen.

Below is screen shot for Samsung Galaxy S Advance – Apps > Settings > Privacy.
Android Factory Reset

After your phone resets, it will be set back to factory defaults and will be like it just came out of the box.

 

For All iPhone

Step 1: Connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and click the gray Back Up Now button when viewing the Summary tab for your given device in iTunes.  Although backing up your device is not necessary, doing so will store your photos, apps, contacts, settings, and other data so you can automatically restore other iOS devices from the backup down the line.

Step 2: Tap the main Settings icon when viewing the home screen, select the General option on the resulting menu and tap the Reset button at the bottom of the next page.

iPhone Reset

Tap the blue Erase All Content and Settings option second from the top, followed by the red Erase iPhone option in the resulting pop-up window to confirm the decision.

iPhone Erase All Content and Settings

 Once the restoration process is complete — a process that may take up to several minutes — check to ensure the phone has been restored to the original factory settings. If done correctly, you’ll once again be presented with the iOS Setup Assistant upon startup, from which you can then restore your phone from backup or continue the process as if setting up a new phone entirely. It’s like it just came out of the box.

iPhone Hello

 

 

For All Windows 8 Phones

Step 1: Backup. Everything. Contacts and messages are typically the most important part of your backup process. USe a backup app to do so.

Step 2: In the App list, find and click on Settings – shown by a cog.

Windows Phone 8 Settings logo

In the System section of the menu, click on About towards the bottom of the list.

Windows Phone 8 System Settings

At the bottom of this screen, click the box which says ‘Reset your phone’.

Windows Phone 8 About

You’ll be presented with a warning message. Once you’re happy to proceed, click ‘Yes’.

Windows Phone 8 Factory Reset

You’ll get a second warning. Click ‘Yes’ .

Windows Phone 8 Factory Reset Warning

Your Windows Phone 8 smartphone will now reboot and be restored to its original factory settings.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here