WhatsApp recently introduced its much talked about “Delete for Everyone” feature. The feature is now available on iPhone, Android, Windows Phone and its web client.
The feature allows users to delete any message sent by mistake, to either an individual or a group. However, the recipient and the sender should have the latest version of WhatsApp for the feature to actually work. Users also have a window of seven minutes to actually delete the message, after that time the user can delete the message for themselves, but not for everyone.
How Can You Use It?
The feature was earlier in beta testing for over a year, but is finally available to the larger public. Users will have to tap on the message before it is deleted and then select the delete button, and then choose the “Delete for Everyone” option.
Multiple messages can also be deleted at once. But again, they will be done as long as they were all sent within the seven minute window. The message will not just disappear without a trace on deletion. It is replaced with the words “This message was deleted” for other users, and “You deleted this message” in the account of the user who deleted the message.
Long Time Coming
The feature was quite presumably introduced to save users the embarrassment of having to go on and say “sorry wrong chat” after sending a message by mistake. When deleting the messages however, remember that the “This message was deleted” bubble will pop up. This can of course lead to more questions from inquisitive kids, nosy relatives, or very curious neighbours.