Select City

    0 Device Added
    close

    How To Completely Lock Your Facebook Profile From Stalkers

    Share:facebookinstagramwhatsapp

    Facebook Profile lock is the ultimate privacy feature to help you control who sees your profile data and for whom it stays restricted. Check out this full guide to learn how to activate this feature for your profile and keep your profile information guarded against unknown people’s access.

    By Tech Geek | 
    Updated: 10th Dec 2021 15:48 IST
    How To Lock Your Facebook Profile From Stalkers

    Highlights of the Story

    • Your Facebook profile is your private space on social media.
    • This lock feature safeguards your private images, videos and all other information on Facebook. 
    • Stay vigilant and follow all the right steps to lock your profile for your privacy safety.

    Locking your Facebook Profile is not an easy task, I realise that it consists of some tricks here and there. However, I’ll try to be as settled as possible to help you understand Facebook security flaws and how you can protect your Facebook Profile from stalkers.

    Why Should I lock my Facebook Profile?

    We all know Social media occupies most of our lives, including Facebook, WhatsApp, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, etc. We can say that Facebook is the oldest and has always been everyone’s favourite. 

    According to Statista, Facebook has 2.83 Billion monthly active users in the world. That’s a massive chunk of the population. Though it might look like a virtual country, it empowers people and gives them a chance to connect with the world and witness a new virtual world. However, the worst side of Facebook is high Privacy issues. As everyone shares their data on Facebook, it increases the risk of information being misused unnecessarily.

    Solving Privacy Issues

    To solve this privacy issue, Facebook has developed a new feature that protects the user’s personal information from being shared with unknown persons. It is the Facebook Profile Lock feature, which was recently introduced. With this, Facebook removes the ability to collect personal information, posts, or any other data regarding a particular person from your Facebook account by someone else.

    Pretty cool, right!

    Some time ago, Facebook introduced the ‘Profile Picture Guard’ to secure users’ profile pictures. However, considering the other Privacy issues, now Facebook has come up with the Profile lock feature.

    Also Read: Facebook Adds Vanish Mode For Instagram, Messenger

    What is the Facebook Profile Lock feature?

    Facebook Profile Lock

    Facebook has already provided several privacy options. This latest Facebook profile lock feature enables users to lock their profile photos and posts. Those not on your friends’ list cannot look into, share, or download your profile photos and posts. It also restricts the third party from seeing the posts on your timeline. If you have already shared any public post on your timeline in the past, it will now only be visible to your friends’ list. 

    What would your profile look like to those who are not on your list of friends?

    1. Your profile image cannot be seen, shared, or downloaded by that individual.
    2. Neither they nor anybody else will be able to access your profile picture.
    3. They will not be able to see any of your posts.
    4. This means that they won’t be able to see the most current or oldest updates on your timeline.
    5. They won’t be able to see any of your profile’s pictures or albums.
    6. They will only see a portion of your personal information.

    However, if they want to see your profile and get to know you better, they may send you a friend request.

    What Are The Changes Occur While Locking The Profile?

    • Locking your Facebook profile won’t impact your friend request settings. Anyone can send you a friend request, and you also can send a friend request to anyone. 
    • The message settings also remain undisturbed. You can send messages to anyone and also can receive messages from anybody. However, you can restirct user for sending messages that are not in your friendlist.
    • Information such as hometown, current city, education details, etc., would be invisible to unknown people if you have locked your profile.
    • Your profile pictures, cover photos along with about information are also locked to unknown users who are not in your friends list.
    • Those who are not on your friends’ list are unable to view or zoom your profile picture. Only your friends could view, zoom, or share it. If anyone apart from your friends try to zoom into your profile pic or view it full screen, it would show your profile is locked.
    • If you feel unsafe about unknown friend requests, you can always block them.

    Also Read: How To Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

    Why Is Facebook Profile Lock Feature Important?

    According to Facebook, in December 2020, hackers from Bangladesh and Vietnam corrupted the whole privacy system of Facebook. In addition, they have stolen the data of Facebook users. This Facebook lock profile feature will remove the ability of such groups to abuse the Facebook platform and scrape data of people’s accounts across the world.

    People should avoid clicking on suspicious links and avoid accepting friend requests from untrusted sources to support the Facebook privacy system. Facebook also introduced a Vanish mode to resolve privacy risks. The unique feature of this mode is that it deletes all the chats and media files after a certain period once you activate it. In addition, it has another vital safety feature. If someone takes a screenshot of your profile, you will be notified about them instantly. Here are the steps to activate vanish mode. 

    • Get the latest version of Facebook from the Play store or App store.
    • Open the specific chat.
    • Swipe up from the bottom of the chat.
    • This will activate the Vanish mode. With this, the background color of the chat changes to black color indicating the mode is activated.

    Also Read: How To Go Live On Facebook Using Your Android Smartphone or PC

    How to Lock Your Facebook Profile:

    Step to lock a Facebook Profile

    Step 1: First, open the Facebook app on your Android device.

    Step 2: On the home page, tap your Profile picture.

    Step 3: Tap on the three dots Menu

    Step 4: From the options on the page, select the Lock Profile option.

    Step 5: Select the “Lock Your Profile” option at the end of the page on the Lock Profile Page.

    Step 6: Once done, A pop message will appear on the screen saying, You locked your profile. Only your friends can see the photos and posts on your timeline.

    Step 7: Tap Ok to complete the process.

    Your profile will be locked, and if you want to confirm, just come out from that page. Then, again login to your profile. There you will get the notification that your profile has been locked. 

    Also Read: How To Move Facebook Photos To Google Photos!

    If the profile lock is not available on your Facebook page, manually modify the Facebook privacy settings to enable lock profile mode. If you want your friend to lock their profile, you can invite friends to lock their profile to allow them to this mode.

    Also Read: How To Use Facebook’s Messenger Rooms Video Chat Feature! 

    Conclusion

    Facebook is an excellent social media for global communication. However, as the world is getting more concerned about data privacy, it is time to protect your Facebook accounts for good. Locking your profile secures your data from hackers. 

    For the latest smartphone news, stay tuned to Cashify. We also allow you to compare mobile phones so you can find out the better phone before buying.



    Comments

    Featured Videos

    You May Also Read

    Vivo Mobile Price List
    Vivo Mobile Price List
    Vivo is one of the most active smartphone brands in India. Vivo smartphones are the best in terms of camera quality and design. They perform exceptionally well and have a fantastic user experience. The only problem with Vivo smartphones is that they do not have a fixed time for launching new devices. This has messed…