Let’s admit it- Nobody likes those spam messages on WhatsApp. Be it a Group or an Individual chat, you can get rid of them easily. WhatsApp has a feature to Report contact that lets you stop receiving any more messages from those contacts. But what happens when you report someone on WhatsApp? Does the contact get to know about it? Can’t he/she ever message you again? Can he/she call you after being reported?
Well, if you too have questions like these in mind, this article is going to be very helpful for you. Here, we will share what happens when you report someone on WhatsApp. We are going to discuss both Group chat and Individual chat.
Also Read: 50+ Best WhatsApp Group Names For Friends
What happens when you report someone on WhatsApp?
When you report someone on WhatsApp, the contact is not notified about it directly. However, he/she won’t be able to send you messages or get to see your DP or Status. There are chances that the reported account might get suspended for a few hours or days from WhastApp if more people report it. And in some cases, it can even lead to getting the account deleted permanently.
WhatsApp has two options for reporting accounts- Report and Report & Block. If you choose Report, the contact can still send you messages, however, WhatsApp will get to know that the user is violating some rules and will keep a track of it. But when you choose, Report & Block, the contact won’t be able to send you any messages.
Reporting an Individual
When you report an Individual on WhatsApp, your recent interactions will be sent to WhatsApp to investigate it properly.
If you have chosen just the Report option, the reported contact-
- Can still send you texts
- Will be able to voice/video call
- The previous chat won’t be deleted.
However, the reported contact will be on the Watchlist of WhatsApp and anything suspicious from the contact can lead to the account getting suspended.
If you choose Report & Block, the contact-
- Can no longer send you texts
- Can’t call you
- Won’t be able to view your DP, status
- The previous chat gets deleted
Reporting a Group
Reporting a Group works similar to Reporting an Individual contact. You again get two options here- Report and Report & Exit. If you choose the latter, WhatsApp will note your complaint and you will leave the group.
If you choose the former, the reported Group will function the same and WhatsApp will keep a note of the activities going on in the group. In case of any suspicious activities, the particular account will be suspended but the remaining group will function the same.
Engineer by Degree, Writer by Profession. I have tried my hands on different genre of writing only to end up finding technology to be my forte.