NewDonate for Education

Select City
Login

Sell
Find New Phone
Buy Accessories
More
0 Device Added
close

WhatsApp: What Happens If You Don’t Accept The Terms by May 15

Share:facebookinstagramwhatsapp
By Akhil Kapoor - 
10th May 2021
WhatsApp

The WhatsApp privacy policy is once again causing quite a stir online. Just days after, the messaging platform announcing it is deferring the May 15 deadline – it brings in more news. In addition to these, it also confirmed that it will not delete the users’ accounts if they do not accept the terms. However, the FAQ page now details what will happen if you do not accept the new terms.

Also Read: Oppo Reno 6 Pro Launch Imminent As It Gets Malaysia’s SIRIM Certification

Since the whole debacle of privacy – WhatsApp has been trying hard to clear the misunderstandings.

What will happen to your WhatsApp after May 15?

First of all, the FAQ page clearly states it will not “delete the accounts or you will not lose functionality on May 15 after the update”. The question still remains – what will happen now. For those who have not accepted the terms, it will continue to show a notification asking to accept. After a period of several weeks, the WhatsApp users will see a persistent reminder.

Also Read: Redmi Note 10S Landing Page Goes Live, Amazon Exclusivity Confirmed

Later, users will also start having limited functionality until they accept the updates, according to WhatsApp’s FAQ page. This means you will not be able to access your chat list. However, you can still answer incoming phone and video calls. Then, after some time – you will not receive incoming calls or notifications. In the end, WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.

Eventually, your account will become pretty useless so you might as well leave now. One can use another messaging app if the WhatsApp privacy policy is not acceptable to you. There will only be a few weeks so reprieve before this limited functionality drops down.

Also Read: Xiaomi To Launch Three New High-End Tablets!

WhatsApp also says, “if any of your contacts aren’t yet using our Services, we’ll manage this information for you in a way that ensures those contacts cannot be identified by us”.



Comments

Featured Videos