Select City

Explained: New IPL Format, Get To Know EveryThing


The IPL Governing Council at its meeting held a meeting on Feb 26, 2022 and made some key decisions regarding the TATA IPL 2022 Season. Find out the changes made in the IPL format under this article.

- Updated: 15th Jan 2023, 20:19 IST
  • 1
    IPL 2022 details
    • What is seeding in a Team? 
    • Changes made in IPL 2022 Season
  • 2

On Feb 25, 2022, there were some big decisions taken by IPL Governing Council for the new 2022 IPL Season and we will see a new IPL format. In the 15th Season of IPL, we will witness that the League will be played in a bio-secure environment, that is, the type of environment wherein only a single hub will be present to avoid travelling by air which the world considers a primary reason for the spread of COVID-19 which can hinder the League’s progress.

The IPL 2022 will start from Match 26, 2022, and the final will be played on May 29, 2022. It will start 10 days after India’s Test Series that will be played against Sri Lanka. RM Lodha Committee’s recommendation to have a two-week gap between any international series/tournament and a domestic league like IPL has not been considered

Also read: What is NFT? How To Buy NFT? The Complete Story

IPL 2022 details

IPL new format

Total 70 matches will be played in the 15th Edition of IPL, and four venues of international level will be selected in Mumbai and Pune. The playoff venue is still not decided by the IPL Governing Council.

Below you will find the list of matches as per the venues that are selected under the new IPL format:

  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, will conduct 20 Matches
  • Brabourne Stadium (CCI), Mumbai, will conduct 15 Matches
  • Mumbai – DY Patil Stadium will conduct 20 Matches
  • Pune – MCA International Stadium will conduct 15 Matches
ipl new format stadiums

In the 15th Edition of IPL, all the teams will play 4 matches at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium. 3 matches each will be played at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium in Pune.

The 10 teams will play total 14 league matches, that is, seven home matches and seven away matches, totalling 70 league matches and will be followed up by 4 playoff matches.

Furthermore, each team in IPL will play five Teams twice and play with the remaining 4 teams once(two home; two away).

In the IPL format, we will be witnessing a lot of changes in the game as now the new IPL 2022 League Phase format will now have 10 team seedings, and they will be segregated into two groups virtually during the course of the tournament.

Also read: How To Invest In Metaverse? A Complete Guide

What is seeding in a Team? 

Seeding of a team means a team in a game that is given the top-most ranking based on the draw. Teams are placed into a specific group so that it does not meet the best ones until the game has reached its advanced stages; usually, this seeding of the team is done based on the overall previous season’s records.

Also read: How To Play Wordle? Best Strategies To Win

Changes made in IPL 2022 Season

There will two Groups in IPL new format where the five-time winners, Mumbai Indians, the top seed, will lead GROUP A and four-time winner, that is, Chennai Super Kings will lead GROUP B.

The GROUP A will be followed by Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants. IN THAT ORDER, GROUP B will be followed by Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers, Punjab Kings and Gujrat Titans.

List that states the number of times a team has won IPL and how many finals have they faced as well:

  1. Mumbai Indians-Winner 5 Times- 6 Finals Played
  2. Chennai Super Kings-Winner 4 Times- 9 Finals Played
  3. Kolkata Knight Riders-Winner 2 Times- 3 Finals Played
  4. Sunrisers Hyderabad- Winner 1 Time- 2 Finals Played
  5. Rajasthan Royals- Winner 1 Time- 1 Final Played
  6. Royal Challenger Bangalore- Winner 0 Time- 3 Finals Played
  7. Delhi Capitals- Winner 0 Time- 1 Final Played
  8. Punjab Kings- Winner 0 Time- 1 Final Played

Two teams Lucknow Super Giants and Gujrat Titans will play in the IPL for the first time. These two are a new addition to the family of IPL.

Also read: Best Free Fire Alternatives in India

Below you find the list of the Virtual Groups A and B in the new IPL format:

Group A – 

  1. Mumbai Indians 
  2. Kolkata Knight Riders
  3. Rajasthan Royals
  4. Delhi Capitals
  5. Lucknow Super Giants

Group B – 

  1. Chennai Super Kings
  2. Sunrisers Hyderabad
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore 
  4. Punjab Kings
  5. Gujarat Giants

In the new IPL format, we will see that each team in their respective group will face the other 4 teams twice. The rest of the teams in the second group will play only once during the season.

For Instance, Mumbai Indians in GROUP A will face two matches each against Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants. Mumbai Indians will further play two matches each against the top seed of GROUP B, that is, Chennai Super Kings and will play one match each against other teams in GROUP B of the new IPL format.

Also Read: Where Is Call Recording Saved in OnePlus Smartphone?

Similarly, we will see that in Group B, Royal Challengers Bangalore will play two matches each against Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, and Gujrat Titans. Furthermore, Royal Challengers Bangalore will also play two matches against Royal Rajasthan and 1 match each against the other teams in GROUP A of the new IPL format.

Also read: We Ranked The Best Free Dating Apps For Indians 2022

new IPL format
Schedule Matrix for the15th IPL Edition


We hope that you got a clear idea of the whole schedule of the IPL along with the changes that are made in the new format of the IPL’s 15th Edition. Along with the new format of IPL, we also are witnessing that an Indian industry giant TATA Group replaced Chinese mobile manufacturer Vivo as the title sponsor of the Indian Premier League (IPL) for two seasons, for the 2022 season and 2023 season.

Also read: A Beginners Guide To Start Making Money On Instagram

Use your old smartphone to its maximum capacity! You can either sell your phone online or recycle your old phone. Cashify allows you to manage everything from the comfort of your own home.


Featured Videos

6 Interesting Things About The Apple Watch Ultra 2!
11th Sep 2023
iPhone 15 Wonderlust Launch Event: What To Expect And How To Watch?
11th Sep 2023
Apple Watch Series 9: Here Is All That Happened In The Wonderlust Event
10th Aug 2023
Samsung Games Portal: Everything You Need to Know
12th Jul 2023
Here’s The Best Way To Buy Refurbished Samsung Galaxy Note 20 Now!
11th Jul 2023

Highlights of the Story

  • Not clear about the latest changes in the 15th Season of IPL?
  • Want to know the development that has taken place in the IPL format?
  • This article will provide you with all the latest development around the new format of IPL.

New Launches

Infinix Hot 40i

Infinix Hot 40i

Starting from:
Snexian Bold 4G

Snexian Bold 4G

Starting from:
Itel Ace 2 Heera

Itel Ace 2 Heera

Starting from: